Beet and Feta Salad

Last night, I found myself wandering around the produce section, longing desperately for summertime.

Image

I didn’t find much (considering it’s Tennessee in March, which means the weather’s too confused for anything to grow), but I found enough to make a salad for today’s lunch. You see…I never get to eat lunch. I cook at work during the day, so I never really have time to eat til dinner.  Which sucks, because lunches are the best.

So, I made this salad, AND you should make this salad. Its stupidly simple and different from your typical lettuce+other veg+dressing=salad. It satisfied my urge for something fresh and crunchy and not cooked in butter.

First…I’m gonna take a quick detour and show you a picture of my new knife! I’ll ramble on more about her (yes, she’s a girl) in an upcoming post, but I just wanted to show you how pretty she is.

Image

Anyways, first you’re going to chop the tops and bottoms off of some beets & save the greens. Then you’re going to roast them covered til they get fork tender (I don’t have a picture of this because I forgot…that’s my only excuse haha).

Let them cool and then use a kitchen towel to rub the skins off. Don’t use a white towel like I did…because then your boyfriend will get mad at you for staining (your already stained!) towels.

ImageImage

Next, take your beets and cut them into 1-inch chunks and throw them in a bowl. Set them aside and wash your beet stained fingers.

Image

Image

Hopefully your fingers aren’t as gross and un-manicured as mine. Cook’s hands are not pretty.

Now, take those beets and mix them with the rice vinegar, EVOO, and chili garlic sauce.

Image

This beautiful condiment is Chili Garlic Sauce. Chili Garlic sauce is made by Huy Fong, the same people that make Sriracha. This stuff is like Sriracha’s cooler older brother, who drives a Camaro and has a full sleeve tattoo. I put it in EVERYTHING. Go buy it. NOW. (This is not a paid endorsement. This is just a damn fine condiment.)

Image

Remember those greens you saved? Wash & dry those…then we’re gonna stack them up on top of each other and roll them up like a cigar.

Image

Then, we chiffonade! Which is just a fancy word for saying you sliced up that cigar.

Image

This turns the greens into a pretty little pile of ribbons.

Image

Then, slice up an apple suuuuuuuper thin. Or just as thin as you want. Either works…but you MUST toss these with some rice vinegar or other acid right after you cut them so they don’t get ugly and brown.

Image

Combine the feta, apples, and greens. Place some beets on a plate and top it with the apple mix and more feta. Season it with good coarse salt and fresh cracked black pepper. Drizzle with olive oil.

Image

Eat it and be happy that you’re having lunch. Because, I sure did.

Image

Beet and Feta Salad – serves 2

2 medium sized beets (greens intact)

1 small tart apple (McIntosh or Granny Smith)

3 T feta cheese

1 T + 1 t rice wine vinegar

2 T extra virgin olive oil + more for drizzling

½ t Chili Garlic Sauce

salt & pepper to taste

  • preheat oven to 400°F
  • trim beets of greens and roots, reserve greens
  • oil beets and roast, covered for one hour until fork tender
  • let cool 15 minutes, then rub with towel to remove skins
  • cut beets into 1 inch cubes, combine with 1 T rice wine vinegar, 2 T olive oil, and ½ t Chili Garlic Sauce. set aside.
  • wash and dry trimmed beet greens, chiffonade into ¼ in strips
  • thinly slice apple and toss with 1 t rice wine vinegar
  • combine apples, beet greens, and 2 T crumbled feta
  • divide beets between 2 plates, top with apple mixture
  • sprinkle with reserved feta, season with salt and pepper, and drizzle with olive oil
  • enjoy!

3 responses

  1. I want you to make me this salad! I love this blog. Your humor is great. This made me hungery and I just finished dinner. Great read!!!!! And I love you.

  2. the only time i ever made (or tried to eat) beets, i thought they kind of tasted like dirt. this definitely makes me want to try them again, because it looks seriously tasty!
    and omg chili garlic sauce is THE BEST.

Leave a comment