Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies

I’ve been having a bit of a love affair with cookies and milk lately.

ImageEvery night before bed, I have a glass of milk and a few cookies. Most nights it’s just plain old Joe-Joe’s (Trader Joe’s far superior incarnation of the Oreo), but when I have days off I try to always make a batch of these.

Chocolate chip cookies have always been my favorite, but no cookie has ever infuriated me they way they have. I tried and failed to come up with the perfect chocolate chip cookie recipe for most of my teenage years. My mom was always content with the recipe on the back of the Nestle Toll House bag, but that could never turn out the soft chewy cookie of my dreams. My perfect chocolate chip cookie was something I had resigned to only being able to find in bakeries and coffee shops.

That was until I stumbled upon How Sweet Eats giant rainbow cookies…with a few tweaks I finally had the cookie I had longed for all those years. This is now the base dough I use for just about any cookie variation. It just works so well and stays soft for over a week if stored properly, not that they’d last that long that is. They certainly don’t around here!

First, we start with the dry ingredients. Add flour and baking soda in a medium sized mixing bowl. Whisk everything up so it’s all distributed evenly & set it aside.ImageImage

Now, we need a stick and a half of melted butter. Don’t you dare melt it on the stove…use a pretty bowl, take the easy way out, and microwave that goodness.

ImageImage

Next in a large mixing bowl, you’re going to combine 1 egg + 1 yolk, brown sugar, white sugar, melted butter, salt, and vanilla. Don’t be like me and forget the vanilla the first time…I’m quite possibly the most scatterbrained person on the face of the planet.

ImageImage

ImageImage

Add the dry to the wet in a few additions; this will make it easier to mix as it stiffens from batter to dough.

 ImageImageImageImageImage

Now its time to get dirty…the dough is too stiff to mix with a spoon, so dump in your chocolate chips & walnuts and get your hands in there. There’s nothing more fun in my opinion than playing with…uh I mean, mixing cookie dough with your hands.

 ImageImageImage

Drop these by 1 oz portions onto an ungreased cookie sheet. The easiest way to get consistent cookies is to fill up a ¼ C measuring cup halfway. Roll em up and I like to give em a leeeetle smoosh to help them spread.

ImageImageBake at 325°F for 12-15 minutes, rotating pans halfway through. Most home ovens don’t heat evenly…so if you rotate your cookie sheets, it eliminates the risk of uneven browning. Let them cool on the pan for a few minutes until transferring to a cooling rack, this helps the bottoms stay nice and flat.

Image

The only step left is to stuff your face with what my roommates have called the best chocolate chip cookies they’ve ever had. I’m rather fond of them myself and I hope you enjoy them too!

Image

Chocolate Chip Walnut Cookies – yield: 2 ½ dozen cookies

original recipe from How Sweet Eats

 2 C + 2 T all purpose flour

½ t baking soda

1 ½ sticks unsalted butter (melted)

1 C brown sugar

1 egg + 1 yolk

2 t vanilla extract

1 T fine grain sea salt

1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 C walnuts (chopped)

  • preheat oven to 325°F
  • whisk together flour and baking soda in medium mixing bowl
  • in a separate large mixing bowl, mix melted butter, brown sugar, sugar, egg + yolk, & sea salt
  • add dry ingredients to wet ingredients in 3 separate additions, you may need to switch to mixing with your hands as dough stiffens
  • mix in chips and walnuts with your hands, it may seem like the mix-ins do not walk to stay mixed. this is normal, just mix everything in as evenly as possible
  • portion cookies with 1 oz scoop, or half filled ¼ C measure, roll & place on cookie sheet, smoosh down a little
  • bake for 12-15 minutes, rotating pans halfway through cooktime, until bottoms are lightly browned
  • remove from oven, let sit on pan 3 minutes, move to cooling rack to cool thoroughly
  • enjoy with a big glass of milk!
2 responses

  1. Cookies and milk before bed….a girl after my own heart. One question, though. How can there be a superior version of the Oreo? I must try them!
    BTW, I am loving your blog (or whatever you young whipper-snappers are calling it these days). I’m enjoying the pictures of all the food (although, it makes me hungry) and you are a wonderful writer. Thank you for sharing with me. I truly enjoy being included in your life.

  2. i’m totally obsessed with chocolate chip cookies! you’re right though- it’s infuriating how different one recipe can be from the next. i make the infamous “ny times” recipe (it’s convinced me that massive amounts of butter is the key), but i think i’ve made one of the how sweet eats variations before.
    i finally had to break down and get a cookie scooper, because i was going bananas trying to scoop and roll out a whole recipe’s worth of cookies. (sooo impatient!)
    i’m going to dream about chocolate chips + walnuts now :)

Leave a Reply

